Ma Lin's Ummc Is The New Champion Of The Russian Premier League! (Videos)

Ma Lin's UMMC is the new champion of the Russian Premier League! (VIDEOS)
Spread the love for Table Tennis!

After three days of battle, UMMC emerged as champion of the 2012-13 Russian Premier League. Ma Lin's club won the decisive encounter and finally managed to beat Orenburg of Vladimir Samsonov and Dimitrij Ovtcharov in a final. This is the second title for the Russian club after the ETTU Cup. 

UMMC was crowned champion of the 2012-13 Russian Premier League. The Russian club with Ma Lin's help finally defeated Orenburg in the final. UMMC was beaten by Orenburg in the final of the last two season of the Russian League, in 2011-12 European Champions League's final, in the 2012 Russian Super Cup and in the European Super Cup. But what changed this time? Michael Maze, one of its main players, got injured last year, so the club had to look for a replacement.

Months later Ma Lin was announced as the new signing. The former Olympic champion didn't have a good performance in his first competition for UMMC, because he was recovering from a wrist injury but he promised he would be in better shape the next time. And Ma Lin kept his promise, he won all his matches in play-off and was crucial to win the title. 

In the first leg match, UMMC got a 4:3 victory. Ma Lin won his two matches against Vladimir Samsonov and Dimitrij Ovtcharov. Ma Lin and Tan Ruiwu defeated Samsonov and Smirnov by 3:2. The fourth point was taken by Tan Ruiwi, who beat Smirnov. Orenburg's points were won by Ovtcharov over Shibaev, Samsonov over Tan Ruiwu and Samsonov over Shibaev. 

Orenburg had its revenge in the second leg as they won by 4:3 and forced to a deciding match. Ma Lin overcame Alexei Smirnov by 11:7, 7:11, 11:6, 8:11 and 11:8. Then Ovtcharov leveled at 1:1 after beating Shibaev by 11:7, 11:4, 7:11 and 11:3. Samsonov took the second point as he overcame Tan Ruiwu by 11:3, 11:5, 9:11, 11:13 and 11:3. Ma Lin and Tan Ruiwu leveled at 2:2 as they stood victorious over Samsonov and Smirnov by 11:7, 15:13 and 11:2. Ma Lin gave the third point after beating Ovtcharov by 15:13, 9:11, 11:8 and 11:4. Smirnov leveled at 3:3 as he swept with Tan Ruiwu by 11:9, 11:3 and 11:5. Samsonov defeated Shibaev by 11:5, 6:11, 12:10 and 11:9, and secured victory for Orenburg. 

The deciding match was also close. Tan Ruiwu gave the lead to UMMC after beating Alexei Smirnov by 11:7, 11:3, 9:11 and 11:5. Hou Yingchao replaced Ma Lin and beat Dimitrij Ovtcharov by 14:12, 11:8, 2:11 and 11:8. Samsonov won the first point for his team as he overcame Shibaev by 7:11, 11:4, 11:3 and 11:7. There was also a change in UMMC doubles, Tan Ruiwu paired up with Shibaev. Despite that, they beat Samsonov and Smirnov by 11:7, 9:11, 12:10 and 11:5. Ovtcharov kept Orenburg's hopes alive as he stood victorious over Tan Ruiwu by 3:0. But Shibaev redeemed himself after losing all his previous matches. The Russian player overcame Alexei Smirnov by 11:5, 6:11, 11:8 and 11:7, and sealed victory for UMMC. 

This is the second title for UMMC in this season. Previously they won the ETTU Cup after defeating Bogoria in the final.   

Hou Yingchao vs Dimitrij Ovtcharov Video kindly shared by AlexLomaev

Ma Lin vs Alexey Smirnov Video kindly shared by AlexLomaev

Alexander Shibaev vs Alexei Smirnov  - Deciding Match Video kindly shared by AlexLomaev

Photo and info. source: -

Like this Entry? Then Follow Us!
  • Facebook:

  • Twitter:
Did You Know?

Angelica Rozeanu-Adelstein, from Romania, won 6 World titles in a row

Subscribe to our Newsletter

and get the most entertaining Table Tennis news, videos and pics

or get TableTennista through