2013-14 European Champions League's Draw Released!

2013-14 European Champions League's Draw released!
Spread the love for Table Tennis!

Everything is ready for the next season of the European Champions League. The draw of the 2013-14 European Champions League was carried out in Düsseldorf on Wednesday. 13 clubs are in competitions, which were drawn into four groups. Top seeds of the groups are Orenburg, Borussia Düsseldorf, UMMC and Werder Bremen.

The draw of the 2013-14 European Champions League was carried out in Düsseldorf. 13 clubs will compete in this season, which were drawn into four groups. The reigning champion Orenburg is the top seed and was directly drawn into the group A. Ochsenhausen of Germany and Angers of France also are in the group. Orenburg hasn't announced changes in its line-up, so the team will be made up by Dimitrij Ovtcharov, Vladimir Samsonov, Alexey Smirnov and Fedor Kuzmin. Ochsenhausen has one change in comparison to the last season. The German club signed Simon Gauzy, who will replace Tiago Apolonia. So the French player will be team mate of Ryu Seungmin, Kirill Skachkov and Liam Pitchford. Angers hasn't confirmed new players, so its line-up will be the same as the one of last season: Michel Martinez, Benjamin Brossier and Panagitis Gionis.

The group B is made up by UMMC, Saarbrücken, Pontoise and Eslövs Al Bordtennis. UMMC is the current Russian champion thanks to Ma Lin's help but the former Olympic champion won't continue in the club. The Russian club also suffered the loss of another important player, Hou Yingchao, so it looks for another leader, Jun Mizutani. The Japanese player will be team mate of Alexandra Shibaev, Tan Ruiwu, Grigory Vlasov and Joao Monteiro. Saarbrücken will arrive in this season with a new player, Tiago Apolonia, who will be team mate of Bastian Steger and Bojan Tokic. Pontoise also is a strong opponent in the group. The French runner-up will be made up by Marcos Freitas, Jakub Kosowski and Peter Franz. The last club is Eslövs of Sweden. The newcomer club is the current champion of Sweden and is made up by Hui Xu, Mattias Oveslo and Kasper Sternberg. 

The group C is led by Werder Bremen, Bundesliga, new champion. Werder Bremen has no changes in its line-up, so Chuang Chih-Yuan, Adrian Crisan, Constantin Cioti and Paul Drinkhall will defend the German club in this season. The French club Hennebont made up by Kalinikos Kreanga and Dimitrij Prokopcov is also in this group. The third club in the group is Walter Wels of Austria. 

Borussia Düsseldorf is the top seed in the group D. The Bundesliga's former champion got a hard group with French champion Chartres  and Niederösterreich of Austria. Besides being the French champion, Chartres, made up by Gao Ning, Pär Gerell and Robert Gardos, is the current runner-up of the Champions League. Niederösterreich is the Austrian champion and is led by Chen Weixing, Leung Chu Yan, Daniel Habesohn and Stefan Fegerl. 

Photo and info. source: 

Like this Entry? Then Follow Us!
  • Facebook:

  • Twitter:
Did You Know?

Table Tennis was banned in the USSR from ca 1930 to 1950 because it was believed to be harmful to the eyes

Subscribe to our Newsletter

and get the most entertaining Table Tennis news, videos and pics

or get TableTennista through