Germany Is The 2014 European Women's Team Champions

Germany is the 2014 European Women's Team Champions
Spread the love for Table Tennis!

The German women's team defended the European title in Lisbon. Han Ying and Co. overcame Austria by 3:0. But Liu Jia and Co. offered more resistance this time. Poland and Sweden clinched the bronze medal.

Germany won their second European team title in a row. Last year Germans defeated Romania in a close match. This year it was a 3:0 victory over Austria in Lisbon, but Liu Jia and Co. offered more resistance than in the previous match held on Wednesday. 

In that occasion, Germany also posted a 3:0 victory. Shan Xiaona beat Amelie Solja by 3:2 in the first match. Han Ying swept with Liu Jia by 3:0 and Petrissa Solja defeated Li Qiangbing by 3:2. 

Germany kept the same line-up for the final match, while Austria made a change. Sofia Polcanova replaced Amelie Solja. Polcanova had a promising star against Shan. She won the first two games by 11:5 and 12:10, but the German player got the third game by 11:4. The Austrian player had chances to win the match in the fourth game, but Shan reacted and leveled by 11:9. The German player took control of the deciding game and won by 11:7. 

Liu Jia also took the lead in the match against Han Ying. She won the first two games by 11:9 and 11:8. But the 2013 European finalist fought back and leveled by 11:8 and 11:5. In the decidng match Han prevailed by 12:10. Petrissa Solja sealed victory for Germany after sweeping with Li Qiangbing by 11:4, 11:3 and 11:9. 

Photo and info. source: Sabine Winter's facebook fan page - 

Like this Entry? Then Follow Us!
  • Facebook:

  • Twitter:
Did You Know?

1904 was the first time Table Tennis was played in China

Subscribe to our Newsletter

and get the most entertaining Table Tennis news, videos and pics

or get TableTennista through